WTC2023 Final: The Ultimate Test

The IPL is over and now all eyes are on the WTC2023 final which will take place from 7 June to 11 at the Kennington Oval, London. Furthermore, this is the second edition of the World Test Championship as the first edition took place in 2021 between India and New Zealand. Both teams have reached their destination and preparations are underway.

This is the second time that India has reached the WTC Final, before that they lost against New Zealand in 2021. Winning the Boarder Gavaskar Trophy was important for both teams for the WTC2023 final qualification. India beat Australia 2-1 to qualify for the WTC2023 final, where Australia qualified for the WTC2023 final by defeating India in the third Test of the Border Gavaskar Trophy.

Overall Australia won 11 of their last 19 Test matches and topped the points table. India won 10 of their last 18 Test matches and secured the second position in the points table.

WTC2023 Final: India’s away performance against Australia

India’s overseas performance against Australia doesn’t seem well. So far both the teams have faced each other 52 times India won only 9 times and Australia won 30 times, the remaining 13 matches ended with no result. But India is undefeated against Australia in their last 3 outings.

It is also noteworthy that Australia is not the host of the WTC2023 final as England hosts the tournament. Australia have not performed well at the Oval since their Test match debut against England in 1880, winning only 7 times out of 38 matches. On the other end, India also did not fare well at the Oval, winning only twice out of the 14 matches they played.

In their last 5 meetings at the Oval, both the teams shared one win each, and three games were drawn. The upcoming WTC2023 final will be the ultimate test for both teams as they will try their best to win.

WTC2023 Final: India and Australia squad

ICC confirmed the India and Australia squads for the upcoming WTC2023 final on 28 May. A 15-man squad has been announced for both teams. Furthermore, India will be led by Rohit Sharma and Pat Cummins will lead Australia in the WTC2023 final. Earlier Australia had announced a 17-man squad but as per ICC rules, they had to reduce it to 15.

Australia has kept two players and India has kept three players in reserve. Mitch Marsh and Matt Renshaw are the reserve players for Australia while Jaiswal, Mukesh Kumar, and Surya Kumar are the reserve players for India. Josh Hazlewood, who was ruled out of IPL 2023 due to experiencing a side sore, has now been declared fit and is also a part of the Australia squad.

Ishan Kishan has been included in the Indian team as a wicket-keeper batsman in place of the injured KL Rahul. Apart from this, Ajinkya Rahane is also included in India’s WTC2023 Final squad after performing well for CSK in IPL 2023. Yashasvi Jaiswal has been included as a standby player in place of Ruturaj Gaikwad who is not available due to some personal reasons. Now let’s have a look at the squads of both teams.

WTC India’s Squad

  1. Rohit Sharma(C)
  2. Shubman Gill
  3. Cheteshwar Pujara
  4. Virat Kohli
  5. Ajinkya Rahane
  6. KS Bharat (WK)
  7. Axar Patel
  8. Ravindra Jadeja
  9. Ravichandran Ashwin
  10. Ishan Kishan
  11. Mohammed Shami
  12. Mohammed Siraj
  13. Shardul Thakur
  14. Umesh Yadav
  15. Jaydev Unadkat.

Reserve Players: Jaiswal, Mukesh Kumar, Surya Kumar Yadav.

WTC Australia’s Squad

  1. Travis Head
  2. David Warner
  3. Steve Smith
  4. Marnus Labuschagne
  5. Usman Khawaja
  6. Cameron Green
  7. Alex Carey (WK)
  8. Marcus Harris
  9. Josh Inglis
  10. Pat Cummins (C)
  11. Nathan Lyon
  12. Josh Hazlewood
  13. Mitchell Starc
  14. Todd Murphy
  15. Scott Boland.

Reserve Players: Mitchell Marsh, and Matt Renshaw.


WTC2023 Final This is the next big cricket event that everyone is waiting for after IPL 2023. India, who missed the opportunity to win the WTC in 2021, will aim to win it this time. On the other hand, Australia is also preparing to bring the trophy home. However, it is said that the surface will favor the fast bowlers and Australia have the trio of Cummins, Starc, and Hazlewood which can be dangerous for India.

Apart from this, it will be interesting to see how the Indian fast bowlers adapt to the situation because It is not easy to go out and play in a totally different condition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

New Casinos
100% Welcome Bonus On Casino & Sports
50% Welcome Bonus on Casino and Table Games
100% Sports Welcome Bonus
5% cashback bonus on Monday