Mumbai Indians (MI) playoff qualifying history in IPL

The Mumbai Indians are renowned for their exceptional performance in the Indian Premier League (IPL) and are considered one of the most dominant teams in the league. They have a talented and impressive squad that has consistently delivered outstanding results. As a result, the team has won the IPL championship five times, in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and most recently in 2020. In the 2020 final, they defeated the Delhi Capitals by five wickets to claim the championship title.

So far 9 times Mumbai Indians have qualified for the playoffs in IPL. In this article, we will discuss the top performance of Mumbai Indians. Where they not only qualified for the playoffs but also won the IPL title. The first season of IPL started in 2008 and currently, its 16th season is going on. The race to qualify for the playoffs has started and every team is trying their best to reach the playoffs. Let’s talk about Mumbai Indian’s qualification to playoffs so far in the IPL.

2013 Season – (Mumbai Indians won the title)

The Mumbai Indians (MI) emerged as champions of the 2013 IPL season. Finishing the group stage in second place with an impressive record of 11 wins out of 16 games. They suffered a setback in Qualifier 1, losing to the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 48 runs. However, they bounced back in Qualifier 2, defeating the Rajasthan Royals to secure a spot in the final. In the final, they faced CSK once again and emerged victorious. Winning by 23 runs to claim their first IPL championship title.

2015 Season – (Mumbai Indians won 2nd IPL title)

Following their 2014 campaign, the Mumbai Indians (MI) qualified for the playoffs for the third consecutive time in the 2015 IPL season. They finished the group stage in second place with eight wins out of 14 games. In Qualifier 1, they defeated the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) to secure a spot in the final. Meanwhile, CSK beat the Royal Challengers Bangalore in Qualifier 2 to also make it to the final. In the final, MI faced CSK once again and emerged victorious, winning by 41 runs to claim their second IPL championship title.

2017 Season – (Mumbai Indians won 3rd IPL title)

After a two-year gap, the Mumbai Indians (MI) returned to the playoffs in the 2017 IPL season. They finished at the top of the group stage, winning 10 out of 14 games. However, they lost Qualifier 1 to the Rising Pune Supergiants, which meant they had to play Qualifier 2 against the Kolkata Knight Riders. MI won that game comfortably by six wickets, securing a place in their fourth IPL final. In the final, they faced Pune Supergiant once again and emerged victorious in a nail-biting contest, winning by just one run to claim their third IPL championship title.

2019 Season – (MI won 4th IPL title)

The Mumbai Indians continued their impressive form in the 2019 IPL season, finishing at the top of the group stage with nine wins out of 14 games. They made their way to the final by winning Qualifier 1 against Chennai Super Kings (CSK). In the final, MI faced CSK once again, and it turned out to be another closely contested game. MI emerged victorious by a margin of just one run, securing their fourth IPL championship title.

2020 Season – (MI secured its 5th IPL title)

The Mumbai Indians made history by winning their fourth IPL championship in 2019, and they repeated the feat in the very next season. In the 2020 season, MI finished at the top of the group stage with nine wins out of 14 games. MI beat the DC by 57 runs in Qualifier 1 to reach their sixth IPL final. In the final, they faced DC once again and emerged victorious by five wickets to secure their fifth IPL championship title.

Current scenario of other teams qualifying

As of now, at the halfway mark of the tournament, the Gujarat Titans, who are the defending champions, are leading the table. The Chennai Super Kings and the Mumbai Indians are in second and third place respectively, trailing behind the Titans. The fourth spot in the table is secured by Lucknow Super Giants at this moment with 11 points.

Other teams that are fighting for the fourth spot are RR, KKR, RCB, and PBKS with 10 points each. With their last win against RCB, MI’s chances of qualifying for the playoffs have increased. They are now third in the league table. Mumbai Indians would look to win their remaining games to finish second and third.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

New Casinos
100% Welcome Bonus On Casino & Sports
50% Welcome Bonus on Casino and Table Games
100% Sports Welcome Bonus
5% cashback bonus on Monday