ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule and Venue

This year is going to be the biggest cricket tournament of ICC. ICC World Cup 2023 is the most awaited cricket tournament as it happens once in 5 years. It is none other than the ICC World Cup 2023 which is scheduled to begin in October 2023. It is a very special occasion for India as India will be hosting this tournament for the first time in the history of cricket. Earlier India co-hosted the tournament in 1987, 1996, and 2011. The upcoming tournament will mark the thirteenth edition of this event. However, England was the first to host the tournament in 1975.

England is the defending champion of the tournament. As they won it at their home ground in 2019 after defeating New Zealand in a thrilling final held at Lord’s. Australia is the most successful team in Cricket World Cup history as it has won the World Cup five times. Meanwhile, India and West Indies won the tournament twice. On the other end, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, and England won the tournament once each.

ICC World Cup 2023 Format

The tournament will feature ten teams vying for the coveted trophy. The format of the tournament will be like the 2019 edition held in England and Wales, with a round-robin stage followed by the knockouts.

During the round-robin stage, all ten teams will face each other once. A win will earn two points for the victorious team, while a no-result will result in both teams receiving one point each.

However, at the end of the round-robin stage, the top four teams with the highest points will qualify for the semi-finals. The winners of the two semi-finals will compete in the final, where the champion will be determined.

ICC World Cup 2023 Qualification

The ICC Cricket World Cup Super League 2020-23 is the primary route for teams to qualify for the tournament. The top seven teams in the CWCSL table, as well as India, who automatically qualifies as the host nation, will directly enter the tournament.

To determine the final qualifying teams for the 2023 Cricket World Cup, the top three teams from ICC Cricket World Cup League 2, the top two teams from the 2023 World Cup Qualifier Play-off, and the remaining five teams on the CWCSL table will compete in the 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualifier. This tournament will determine the final two teams that will qualify for the World Cup.

ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule and Venue

BCCI has not yet announced any official schedule for ICC World Cup 2023 as BCCI is planning to announce the schedule after IPL 2023. So, it is expected that the 2023 World Cup will start in the first week of October and end in the second week of November. Earlier the 2023 World Cup was to be held on 9 February. But due to the Covid-19 pandemic, it moved to October. The organizers have selected a total of 13 venues in India to play the WC 2023 games. Meanwhile, below is the list of stadiums:

  1. Wankhede (Mumbai).
  2. Eden Gardens (Kolkata).
  3. Feroz Shah Kotla (Delhi).
  4. M Chinnaswami (Bangalore).
  5. MA Chidambaram (Chennai).
  6. Sardar Patel Stadium (Ahmedabad).
  7. PCA Stadium (Mohali).
  8. Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium (Hyderabad).
  9. VCA Stadium (Nagpur).
  10. MCA Stadium (Pune).
  11. Green Park Stadium (Kanpur).
  12. SCA Stadium (Rajkot).
  13. Gandhi Stadium (Guwahati).


The excitement and anticipation for the ICC World Cup 2023 are building up. Since India is hosting the tournament for the first time. The title will be contested by 10 teams in total. Fans of cricket worldwide are excitedly anticipating the start of the tournament. The fans expect the 13th edition of the tournament to be a grand affair. With some of the world’s top teams competing against each other.

India is preparing to host the tournament in 13 different stadiums across the country. With its rich history and passionate fans, India is the perfect place to host such a prestigious tournament. However, the tournament format, which includes a round-robin stage followed by knockouts. The format is like the 2019 edition held in England and Wales.

While the BCCI is yet to announce the tournament’s schedule. Moreover, we can expect it to begin in October and end in November 2023. Cricket fans across the world are eagerly waiting for the announcement of the schedule. The tournament promises to be a celebration of the spirit of cricket.

Teams from various countries are competing against each other. Therefore, the tournament will not only be an opportunity for the teams to showcase their skills. But also, for the fans to come together and enjoy the game they love. As the countdown to the tournament begins. So, we can only wait in anticipation for what promises to be an unforgettable event.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

New Casinos
100% Welcome Bonus On Casino & Sports
50% Welcome Bonus on Casino and Table Games
100% Sports Welcome Bonus
5% cashback bonus on Monday